SculptureWalk Sioux Falls Home

2017 Virtuoso Awards Announced


“Eclipse” by Minnesota Artist Bruce Stillman takes top honor

Sioux Falls, SD – May 12, 2017 – The annual SculptureWalk Best of Show as selected by a jury of exhibiting sculptors has been named in conjunction with annual public art exhibition of sculptures in historic Downtown Sioux Falls. The Best of Show is awarded to 10 winning sculptors participating in this year’s exhibit. In close balloting, “Eclipse” by Bruce Stillman of Mound, MN was selected by the artists.

“Eclipse is a kinetic sculpture and moves with the winds. It represents the celestial dance that occurs with the movement of our planets, sun and moon,” reads the artist statement by Stillman.  The piece crafted from polished aluminum is engineered to move with the wind, creating a captivating sculpture located on the corner of 8th & Phillips Avenue.

Other winners of Best of Show II include:

“Germination III” - Nathan Johansen - UT

“Solitude” - Tuck Langland - IN

“Geronimo” - Dawn Record - CO

“FishKaBobs” - Robert Bruce - SD

“Sitting Panther” - Eric Thorsen - MT

“Whirlwind of Life” - Travis Sorenson - SD

“Generations” - Ben Hammond - UT - 2nd leg of 3 to achieve Virtuoso Certification

“Salmon Runner” - Heather Wall, BC, Canada

“Nucleus” - Jeff Satter - SD

 “MUSE-IC” - Lee Leuning/Sherri Treeby – SD

“Pecos” – Wayne Salge - CO


The Best of Show awards are a part of a generous grant from the Scoular Family Trust to provide a monetary award for excellence in sculpture. Named the Virtuoso honor, artists jury each other’s work to select the Best of Show awards.  The overall winner receives $2,000 and all honorees are rewarded with $1,000.  The program was established in 2016 and is designed to recognize great works art and as an incentive artists to place their sculptures in Sioux Falls.

Started in 2004, SculptureWalk is the largest and most recognized annual exhibit of public art sculptures in the country.


Taste of Sioux Falls 2017

To Reserve Your Advance Tickets email:

Order online 


The New Sculptures Are Here!

Spring is always an exciting and busy time for SculptureWalk.  After a year of planning, the new sculptures were installed on May 6. 

This year's exhibit will be Big!  Literally and figuratively. Come see the new art gracing the streets of Downtown Sioux Falls.


New Arc of Dreams Website


Take a look at the new website for the Arc of Dreams!  The work is underway and the excitement is building for Sioux Falls' new iconic sculpture.  

Check out the Arc of Dreams Facebook page to see news updates and videos. 


2016 SculptureWalk Winners

Every year, hundreds of thousands of people visit SculptureWalk and vote for their favorite sculpture. This year's People's Choice honor goes to artists Lee Leuning and Sherri Treeby for their sculpture "Maestro!"  Featuring a xylophone and chimes, the interactive piece entertained young and old alike. Congratulations to Lee and Sherri and thank you for all of your years of commitment to SculptureWalk.



Best of Show Virtuoso Awards

New to SculptureWalk this year is the Virtuoso program.  10 Best of Show awards are selected by the sculptors participating in SculptureWalk.  This innovative program was made possible through the generosity of the Scoular Family Trust.  The overall Best of Show, selected by a jury of sculptors, was awarded to South Dakota artist, James Green, for his sculpture "Arctic Huntress"  

019--Artic Huntress.jpg

Best of Show II Winners


Jennifer Cannon                         “Illusory Control”

Bobbie Carlyle                           “Sunriser”

Ben Hammond                           “Angel Anchored in the Art Nouveau”

James Maher                             “Fruits of the Good Earth”

Jerry McKellar                            “When Pelts Were Wealth”

Osamede Obazee                       “Echo”

LeRoy Tranfield                           “Ascension of the Beggar”

Neil Wiffill                                   “Dawn’s Calling”

Jade Windell                               “Why Oh Why”


Donate button